Litomyšl Chateau Hill

Litomyšl Chateau Hill

A unique set of Baroque and other historical buildings in the centre of Litomyšl

Chateau Hill in Litomyšl, East Bohemia, has a chequered history stretching over more than a thousand years. Today, most of the buildings in the area are of a Baroque nature, but a recent revitalisation resulted in the occurrence of several contemporary houses designed by top Czech architects, which are combined with historical buildings in a unique way. The latter include the chateau, the riding school, Piarist College, monastery gardens, the Faculty of Restoration of the University of Pardubice and the Church of the Finding of the Cross.  
Several years ago, the entire area underwent revitalization that is highly valued by architectural experts. In the main tourist season, the Information Centre organizes regular tours around the chateau and its surroundings, introducing the buildings in their historical context and explaining strategies for their restoration.

One of the most significant buildings in the area is the Church of the Finding of the Cross and the monastery gardens situated behind it. It was completed in 1722 in the High Baroque style. It gradually fell into disrepair and suffered several fires, but the restoration breathed new life into it. It houses a new exhibition called “Angels on the Hill” and from its tower there is a magnificent view of the town. Today, it is a place used for spiritual contemplation, art exhibitions and cultural events.

The original monastery gardens that belonged to the Piarist Monastery, along with the Church of the Finding of the Cross and Piarist schools, have been revitalized and today are a beautiful place to relax right in the historical centre just a few steps from Litomyšl Chateau, world tangible heritage inscribed on the UNESCO list. In the middle of the gardens, there is a set of sculptures that were donated to the town by the famous Czech sculptor Olbram Zoubek.


Tourist Information Centre, Smetanovo náměstí 72, Litomyšl 570 01